Highway safety and law enforcement officials today reminded New Jersey motorists that, beginning October 20, an amended law goes into effect requiring that all ice and snow be removed from a vehicle before traveling on New Jersey’s roadways. Failure to do so can result in a citation and fine.
Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director Pam Fischer explained that prior to the change motorists could only be cited if property damage or injuries occurred as a result of failing to remove ice and snow from their vehicles. Drivers will now be required to make all reasonable efforts to remove accumulated snow and ice from all exposed surfaces prior to operation of the vehicle, she explained.
“Snow and ice left on a vehicle, in particular on the hood, windows and roof, can become a deadly projectile, creating a hazard for everyone on the road,” Fischer said. “The few moments it takes to clear ice and snow from your vehicle could prevent a crash or save a life.”
Fines for violating the new law range from $25 to $75. No motor vehicle points will be assessed for this offense. If failure to remove ice and snow results in injury or property damage, motorists face fines ranging from $200 to $1000, while commercial motor vehicle drivers face fines ranging from $500 to $1,500, for each offense.